Follow The Eternal on


The Eternal formed in Melbourne, Australia in late 2002. In the bands 15 year history they have released 5 internationally acclaimed studio albums, 2 Live albums & a concert DVD. The band has toured extensively nationally & internationally with the likes of Amorphis, Anathema, Him, Katatonia, Swallow The Sun & Opeth just to name a few. The Eternal’s sound can be best described as dark, melancholic, emotive metal with Doom & Progressive influences. The 17th of August 2018 will see the release of the bands 6th studio album ‘Waiting for The Endless Dawn’.

Mark Kelson / Guitar & Vocals – Richie Poate / Guitar
Dave Langlands / Bass – Marty O’Shea / Drums

(Studio) Martin Powell / Keyboards



We are so proud to finally release this massive piece of work, take a moment to check out our new film for ‘The Wound’, shot in beautiful Portugal by @guilherme_henriquesfilm


The Eternal release second new single & video for ’The Wound’ PRESS RELEASE July 17th 2018 For immediate release The Eternal have released the second single ‘The Wound’ from their upcoming album ‘Waiting For The Endless Dawn’ through Inverse Records. ‘The Wound’ is a 20 minute cinematic statement that takes the listener from moments of progressive, emotive rock, all the way to slow melancholic doom metal. ‘The Wound’ can be best described as an epic & ambitious piece of work from the band. It is now available on Spotify, all major online stores, and streaming services. The film for ‘The Wound’ has been beautifully filmed & produced in Portugal by renowned film maker Guilherme Henriques. ‘The Wound’ is a story of loss, disconnection & attempted reconciliation. The film can be viewed at the Inverse Records Youtube Channel. Last month the band released the single ‘In the Lilac Dust’, which features the enigmatic voice of Mikko Kotamäki from Finnish doom legends Swallow The Sun, is available on all major online services such as Spotify, iTunes & Apple Music through Finnish Label Inverse Records. A Lyric video for the track can also be viewed at the Inverse Records youtube channel. The current incarnation of the band featuring Mark Kelson (Alternative 4, Insomnius Dei, Cryptal Darkness), Martin Powell (My Dying Bride, Cradle of Filth, Anathema), Marty O’Shea (Dreadnaught) & Dave Langlands alongside the addition of renowned Australian guitarist Richie Poate (Dreadnaught). The band have spent over 3 years writing and recording what can be best described as the bands darkest & heaviest album to date. Waiting For The Endless Dawn proves to be a heavy hearted, dark statement in the bands diverse and long career, which will see the band endeavouring to tour extensively and performing the album in it’s entirety in 2018 and beyond. www.the-eternal.com http://www.facebook.com/theeternal http://theeternal.bandcamp.com https://www.instagram.com/theeternalofficial/


Follow Mark Kelson's ultimate Doom Metal Spotify Playlist. #theeternal #doommetal


Hit Youtube or Spotify and check out our current single ‘In The Lilac Dusk’, second single ‘The Wound’ out Monday! #theeternal #waitingfortheendlessdawn


Follow The Eternal on


2018 dates TBA


Go to our YOUTUBE channel for many more videos.